San Padro La Laguna

Well, well,  well…. This blog might be shit because im ass drunk.

The lake was a place to get away from crazy ass volcano hikes, booze (ironic right??), city(ish) life, and the heat. Located about 3  hours on a ‘private’ (F^$%@#g) sweat box of a van. We talked the guy down (no we didnt, we found two more shmucks to join us and the price went down) to 150Q ($21 USD) for our sweet charoite. Lets just say the roads were horse shit and we probably had an average speed of 10mph, not fucking kidding, and hit potholes the size of the huge dick, proper middle of a snowman’s body. Also we were at the weave of Lombard St (get out of your city if you dont know this reference and have a US passport). Anyway-

I stayed at mullets, (cool name right?) and it was pretty chill. It also came with breaky, which was amazing. The town was small, hilly, and full of tuk-tuks. It was a totally hippy, yoga, zen place with a beautiful backdrop and a shit ton of shops to mosey though. At this town, I spent most of my time relaxing, doing yoga/running, and just hanging out (sober).  (*Also for the record, i have not been drinking).. Back on track, first day I got in pretty late, grabbed some Arabic food which was okay at best.

 

The next day I went kayaking which was cool, nothing too exciting, got a decent work out, jumped off a few docks, blah blah youve all been kayaking before and if you havent youre probably pretty lame. I did some yoga on a dock again, and went for a morning run which was beautiful. The lake is surrounded by little towns along side of it, which you can take short (20-45 min) boat ride to. That day I went to San Marco, the ‘Hippy Yoga’ part of the lake and walked around. Though I did not do yoga here, (Classes ranged from 60Q to 200Q *$9-$29) I enjoyed walking around and seeing a few things that that town had to offer.

Following relaxing day, I woke up with a giant Shrek eye that was swollen like Mike Tyson got a clean left hook on me. It was pretty fucked up. Anyway, that was the day I decided to take a horse to one of the viewing points. It was defiantly not the highest viewing point, and these horses were not what I would call properly trained to ‘walk’ up the mountain. Either way, it was fun. The little man horse that I had listened pretty well to his reins and was mainly at a quit trot rather than walk, which I must say was way more fun than a walk. I will also admit, it was probably the fourth time ive been on a horse in my life and defiantly the quickest ive ever ridden.

Following the fun and crazy ride (with one eye…) I walked the town with Ailish and we stumbled upon the best thing ive eaten so far this trip, Chocolate cover frozen bananas… from a family, whom invited us in and let me hold their two month old chucky monkey.

The last day we went to the ‘city’ town called Panajachel which was shit. It was the most ‘built up and industrial, but it was just a bunch of shit street venders, dirty roads, annoying people, dust, and awful pizza. The boat over was an annoying 45 min and 25Q ($3.50 each way, fucking waste of time and rip off). Needless to say that night we went out for a family dinner and then bought three bottles of vodka to help celebrate Guatemala’s Independence Day.

Leave a comment