El Paredon, Driftwood Surfer

Next stop was the beach! Lets be honest, anyone that knows me well, knows my awful fear of commitment. Doesn’t my ass tell them on a website that i’ll work for them behind the bar for a month? Fearful before even getting there…

Started the day and took a 4 hour private bus that cost about $20 each (no AC, and got caught in stopped traffic for a kiddy parade which was fun to watch for like 2 minutes then just hot as shit). The bus ride flew by somewhat with some good Aussie podcasts I downloaded. After the bus ride we were dropped off at a river and had to catch a boat to the hostel. The guy we bought our tickets from made it seem like we had to pay to get over a bridge, not take a boat so that was a bit of a surprise but fine.

Pulling up I got out of the boat with my huge fucking bag (rookie) and then had to walk what seemed 1/2 a mile down the road in humid 90 degree weather. So, walking up to a cute surf like building (surrounded by cars, maybe should have called for a ride?) I was greeted by one of the owners.

The place was well kept, had a mascot of a mini pig named Potato, and was owned by three amazing guys; Jan (a hotty from Holland who owns Potato), Rusty (The party man from England) and Brant (The American who reminded me of Doug from 50 first dates). When I arrived Rusty showed me to my room and I was able to relax and go to the pool for a few hours before going behind the pine and serving the busiest weekend they’ve had! It was a blast and I got to meet a few awesome volunteers as well; Chris, Michelle, and German Paul.

The first night we all got pretty drunk, including myself behind the bar where I gave Chris a fellow American shit about everything, just realize he was blitzed and we had a repeat the next night working together, soberish. We had family dinner that night at the hostel which was good, they had a shishcabobs, salad, guac, and some other crap that was pretty good.

Following day I managed to sleep into like 10am? HOLY Fuck. The gang was hanging around and we decided to go around the corner which had THE BEST pizza ive had or seen on the trip. Perfect time for my hangover. We got several pies and shared.

The place was beautiful; sand was black volcanic, the waves for surfing were good for beginners, the food was decent, and the people were amazing. I could defiantly see myself being there for a month, if, I didn’t meet some great people that have turned into my family over the past month. Some negatives were there wasnt wifi, it was pretty remote, and it was hot as balls all the time. Also, everyone was leaving for the most part and it would have got pretty lonely.

I worked 3 shifts and broke the news that I made the hard decision to leave with the family. It was an over all great place and I could have made it a new home but i’m still in vaca mood and not ready to work yet even if it did get me at cost drinks, a free bed and free food. I departed after 4 days in paradise and will return (for my toiletry bag that i left *Hard sigh,) and the awesome people that I met.

Leave a comment