Bocas Del Toro

Bocas del toro is made up of several islands. Know for it’s “Filthy Friday” island hoping party it has quite the amount of visitors. Knowing this, why not spend New Years there?!

Rolling in on a bus to the main land and then taking a boat to the main island, and another to the island I stayed on it was about a 6 hour journey.

With a clear sky and not much day light left I wandered the beach to find beautiful palms and endless views. Absolutely breath taking. I stayed at Aqua lounge the first few nights there, and had an amazing sleep. The hostel is built above the water on a standing dock (which hindsight part of the dance floor fell though 3 days later, no one was hurt) reguardless best sleep ever. It was also pretty cheap costing about $13 a night with breaky included. They also had a hot bartender, and JJ the chef who randomly loved buffalo and had a gallon of franks red hot, so I loved him too.

The party was great, the people were friendly and the weather was great for the first two nights (and for my filthy friday).

During the time here I also thought it was a good idea to ride bikes to Estrella playa? A 20k one way ride on shitty bikes (my chain popped off about 10 times and it took about 2.5 hours to get there going up steep jungle hills) it was a good time and at least I got some good pictures out of it. I caught the bus back to town and slept good that night.

The following days were not as beautiful, having to find a new hostel because they were over booked, we walked in upon a hostel Diamond, in the main island full of Argentinians, regatón and fun. After partying, finding the most amazing (Westernied shops, real cheese, green veggies, TURKEY) it was a good time!

Another day my gals decided to go diving and I joined them to snorkel while they went down under. The weather wasn’t the best so our views weren’t either but, it was still a fun time and killed a rainy day.

After about three more days of the rain i was ready to leave, buying a $40 ticket to Panama City (1.5 hour boat ride, 10 min cab ride, and 12h bus ride) But, the island wasn’t ready for me to leave. With the storm hitting and the water being so fierce, they closed down all boats to and from the main land. This was just after two boats overturned with a boatload (ha.. everyone was safe so this pun is fine) of people who had to swim to a close island. The following day I took the fairy (which was as big as the Statin Island fairy) to the main land and continued my journey to the Big City.

Leave a comment